Culture

Are you a culture vulture? There are rich pickings in the Jura!

Note the medieval village of St-Ursanne and Bellelay Abbey on your itinerary as places not to be missed. The Genevez Rural Museum of the Jura and the Chappuis-Fähndrich Museum in Develier will allow you to view objects in everyday use in the Jura of yesteryear.

In the Delémont region, many churches and chapels possess stained-glass windows of great interest, including some attributed to Léger, Manessier and Coghuf. In passing, visit the Jura Arts and History Museum and the many castles (Domont, Raymontpierre and Löwenbourg) or the remains of a Roman villa in Vicques.

Look in on La Chaux-de-Fonds. The cultural life of this town, whose planning for watchmaking makes it a UNESCO World Heritage site, is rich indeed. The Italian-style Music and Theatre Hall are real treasures. Stop off at the Museum of Fine Arts and visit the truly beautiful International Watchmaking Museum. Walk in the footsteps of the architect Le Corbusier, a native of the town, famed for creations such as his “Maison Blanche”.

See useful links

Culture

Epris(e) de culture? Vous bénéficierez de riches journées dans Le Jura!

Inscrivez le village médiéval de St-Ursanne et l’abbaye de Bellelay dans les destinations à ne pas manquer. Le Musée rural jurassien des Genevez ainsi que le Musée Chappuis-Fähndrich à Develier vous feront découvrir les objets de la vie quotidienne d’antan dans le Jura.

Dans la région de Delémont, de nombreuses églises et chapelles possèdent des vitraux de grand intérêt, dont certains dûs à Léger, Manessier, Coghuf. Visitez au passage le Musée jurassien d’arts et d’histoire ainsi que de nombreux châteaux (Domont, Raymontpierre, Löwenbourg) ou les vestiges d’une villa romaine à Vicques.

Intéressez-vous à La Chaux-de-Fonds. Dans cette ville dont l’urbanisme horloger est inscrit au Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, la vie culturelle est très riche. La Salle de Musique et le Théâtre à l’italienne sont de véritables bijoux. Arrêtez-vous au Musée des Beaux-Arts et visitez le très beau Musée International de l’Horlogerie. Partez sur les traces de l’architecte Le Corbusier, natif de la ville, et de ses réalisations telles que sa fameuse “Maison blanche”.

Voir les liens pratiques